This is for you, Rachel

Rachel Corrie

Rachel Corrie was 23 years old when she was crushed to death by an Israeli army bulldozer on March 16, 2003. She was working with others trying to protect the home of a Palestinian pharmacist from demolition in Rafah, Gaza Strip, Palestine.

Today marks the fifth death-anniversary of Rachel ; activist, pacifist, human being. She was no legend, no pure genius that makes her any different from you and I. I imagine that if I had met her, we might have struck conversations on everything and anything – our favorite movies, food, war, people. That’s just what regular people do.

But what makes Rachel so special is, I think, the sincerity and passion that she had for restoring justice and her perseverance to fight for a people’s right to exist even though she had no connection to them – besides the humanity that binds them.
Martin Luther King said it best when he said, “..where there is an injustice somewhere … there is an injustice everywhere..”. Only when we realize that pain and suffering are not – should not be- private to the people enduring them, and that keeping quiet to them is as good as adding oil to fire, do we understand what Rachel meant when she said,

‘…This has to stop. I think it is a good idea for us all to drop everything and devote our lives to making this stop. I don’t think it’s an extremist thing to do anymore. I still really want to dance around to Pat Benatar and have boyfriends and make comics for my coworkers. But I also want this to stop. Disbelief and horror is what I feel. Disappointment. I am disappointed that this is the base reality of our world and that we, in fact, participate in it. This is not at all what I asked for when I came into this world. This is not at all what the people here asked for when they came into this world. This is not the world you and Dad wanted me to come into when you decided to have me. This is not what I meant when I looked at Capital Lake and said: “This is the wide world and I’m coming to it.” I did not mean that I was coming into a world where I could live a comfortable life and possibly, with no effort at all, exist in complete unawareness of my participation in genocide…’

This post sounds awkward to me. This tribute to Rachel is a meek attempt to put into words a message that is much bigger than any words can deliver.

May she rest in peace.

Comments
2 Responses to “This is for you, Rachel”
  1. Amina says:

    yarhamuha Allah…I really admire her work!

  2. Abu Zaynab says:

    She was a Godsend.

Leave a Reply

